The use of ”SIR”

talk

There is a phenomenon I found on my return to Cameroon which is the constant use of the word “SIR”. I realized on several occasions that people would address me as “SIR” when greeting me or talking to me. I was very surprised of this constant use of “SIR” giving that I came from a culture where people are not too comfortable with big titles. After some research, I found out that this use of the word “SIR” was mostly among Christian circles and it was a way of portraying humbleness and humility.

I have started using “SIR” myself to address people without even realizing it and I noticed that it helps to humble myself. I have been combing the bible and I found out that most people addressed Jesus as “SIR” during his ministry. The bible says in the book of Mathew 23:12 that “And whosoever shall exalt himself shall be abased and he that shall humble himself shall be exalted.”(King James Version.) If using the word SIR helps to humble us then there is no reason we should not use it.

I wish you all a wonderful weekend. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

