SCHOOL REOPENING!!!!!

I feel nostalgia each time I think of school reopening. It reminds me about my secondary and primary school days when I waited endlessly for school to start after the holidays. The thrill of meeting once more my school mates and sharing our experiences of the holiday, the thrill of meeting back our teachers and embracing again our classrooms. I always felt like the waiting time was too long and I was always impatient to start school. I would remove my book list and look it and tick every single book that my father bought for me. We had to visit the bookshop in order to buy the books.
One particular thing I always remember is my school uniform especially my trousers which my father made sure they were sewed longer than my height so that as I passed to the next class they would loosen it and it would fit me again. In this way I could wear one trouser for more than three classes as my mother would just loosen it to suit me again. Another thing was my shoes that had to be a little bigger in my feet so that I could wear them more than one academic year. I could thus wear the same shoe and uniform for more than three academic years without it being a problem for me. Today, our children want new shoes and uniform each academic which gives a lot of stress to parents who have to do anything to satisfy their kids. In addition, parents have to cough out more money for transportation for schools where there is a bus that has to take kids to school.
Also while going to school I used to think I was going to school for my parents. This is very funny but it was a feeling I had. When I refused to go to school I always felt what my parents would do. I quite remember one of the best foods I liked was rice and beans. Each time my mother cooked it I would just be praying for the school to close quickly so that I could go home and go and eat the food. I use to love rice and beans. I know some of you have your experiences in primary and secondary school. Share them in the comments below.

march past

pupils marching to school.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

